Index - Profile - Archives - Notes - DiaryLand - Random

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

857. Or, This Is The Bar Where I Break Your Heart.

Last night I went to San Francisco to see Chris Whitley. I had been looking forward to this concert for years... they don't HAVE concerts in Montana, and I had missed his tour for Hotel Vast Horizon. I was so excited yesterday, I was nervous. The venue (12 Galaxies) was new. Nice, convienent, CHEAP parking garage only 2 blocks away (good for us lonely, single girls driving in from out of town), friendly, and most importantly, the place sounds great.

Walking in, I actually nearly ran into Chris himself, but being the total retard I am, pulled a Mike Bibby, and KEPT WALKING. This man has pulled me through some of the hardest years of my life, and I don't have the balls to say ANYTHING. So. Simply seeing him was enough, unfortunately the crowd was a little weird. Some middle aged women calling him baby kinda grossed me out, and there was one blonde who I don't think has been let out of her cage in a VERY long time. She actually asked the doorman for his autograph. Yeah, he was cute and all, but... No.

Whitley was decent. His voice is just one of those things that, well, we all know how I am about voices. But, I can't help but be disappointed. Not in his performance, but just that it was a true live performance, only the lyrics remained the same. But, the dude can play a mean guitar.

On the plus side, I believe I have found my new favorite band, Our Lady of the Highway. Nothing makes me happier than a group playing great music, while having a good time doing it. I haven't listened to any of their recorded stuff, but based on their show, I'd say their time will come soon. And you will all say, "Wow. Yeah, that Carie girl sure knows a thing or two about music." And, I'll say, *BOOM*.

Yes. I have brought back the *BOOM*. It's fun. Almost as much fun as DELETED!

. . .

An aside: WHAT THE FUCK IS WRONG WITH YOU MEN IN SACRAMENTO? EXACTLY WHAT IS YOUR DEAL?!?!?

This has to be the worst place to be an odd looking single girl. Last night, for the first time in my life, a man actually came up to me and started a conversation. And, maybe it was because I was there alone, but I haven't been stared at like that since I lived in Oakland. Before you start thinking this is some kind of self esteem issue, let me assure you, I don't think I'm ugly. I think I'm pretty cute, with occaisonal HOT days, few and far between, but they happen. Yesterday was not a hot day, a clevage day, yes, but not a hot day.

Oh, how I miss that city.

. . .

Now, I'm going to... I don't know yet. I don't have to be in to work until 5. HOORAY.

Out.

11:21 a.m. - 2004-03-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next