Index - Profile - Archives - Notes - DiaryLand - Random

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

173

I found her hitch hiking on I-80 West, somewhere in Nevada, right next to the sign that said

Sacramento 158 miles

It was then I calculated the miles, and the time.

You can chase the sun, but you can never beat it.

I thought I remembered a stretch of sand 60 miles long, but I was wrong.

The salt lake looked like I could live next to it, except that I knew I could never see God that way.

I don�t know why I ever thought this would be anything other than what it has been.

There�s only one other person in the world that can make me laugh as hard as my brother.

Everyone has grown up since I�ve been gone. They�re all settled, and groomed, and collected. All I�ve ever been is boxes full of things almost better left else where, cars near to falling apart, unkept, and 16.

You can�t go any faster than an engine will let you.

I didn�t know the time of day, and I only ever knew my direction by the position of the sun relative to the pavement.

I don�t want to leave here, but I know that since I�ve said that, I will.

My dad flicked my cigarette into my eye while I was driving. I�m glad it wasn�t lit.

They�ve painted my favorite bridge yellow, and it may have been beautiful in its own right, but now, it looks out of place.

Freeport Blvd. is almost exactly the same as it was in 1992.

It�s taken me 26 years to be able to say, �That�s just the way dad is.�

This is the best thing I�ve ever done in my whole entire life.

1:48 a.m. - 2003-02-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next