Index - Profile - Archives - Notes - DiaryLand - Random

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

704

I swear my phone only rings when I've made plans.

So, last night I went out with Matthew, even though I'd been drinking since the afternoon.

In the car, a friend calls to see if I want to go to Davis for dinner.

At the bar, a guy calls to 'chat'.

After the second phone call, I say, "Well, I might as well call You and get it over with so my phone will quit ringing."

I hit the buttons, I put the phone to my ear, and a very angry woman picks up, "HELLLLLOO?!?! HELLLLLLLOOOOOOOOO?!?"

I hang up.

The shock of hearing a female answer your cell phone, an ANGRY female, was enough to tie my tongue in a few thousand knots.

Then, it starts. Then, I start figuring, and realizing what's going on.

Because if it was a friend of yours, you would have checked your phone and called me back. If the woman was anything but a girlfriend, or even a wife, you'd have no reason not to return the call. In fact, if your intentions had been anything than what they were, I wouldn't be writing this now.

I'm pretty sure a friend of yours didn't get in an accident yesterday. I'm pretty sure you had plans with your girlfriend/wife. I'm pretty sure when I put all of the pieces together, it paints a very ugly picture.

Excuse me while I curse men for the next year or so.

10:07 a.m. - 2003-08-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next