Index - Profile - Archives - Notes - DiaryLand - Random

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Come Down In Time.

It's hot and I'm sweaty.

I had just finished visiting with Kayak Grandma, and I had to stop at the store to pick up laundry detergent and crossword puzzles for my grandmother (don't ask).

I'm minding my own business, kind of loitering next to the watermelons, working my way over to the cleaning products isle, when I distinctly hear a recognizable melody of piano.

No, no. I'm in Safeway. This is not playing. I mean, this is a cover, available on like one album. It's not possible.

Oh, but it was.

Walking through the chilled grocery store, my secret lonely song was playing for the creaky Russian ladies and leather construction workers. And, maybe that isn't a big deal to you, but it's certainly a sign of something to me.

I just don't know what.

12:36 p.m. - 2003-08-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next