Index - Profile - Archives - Notes - DiaryLand - Random

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I cannot reverse 86 years.

I was trying to eat dinner.

"I'm VERY disappointed in that vacuum cleaner."

"Why?"

"Well, because it doesn't have a light on it! And! It's a pain in the ass to turn on and off."

I continue chewing.

"I called that guy. He got all smart ass with me. I wanted to put so much down and pay so much a month."

"Right. You can't do that at the store."

"Well! They wrote me a letter saying I could! You can't just say you will and don't.The one with the light costs over 300 dollars!"

This is where I put my head in my hands and count to 10.

"Grandma. You. Can't. Do. That. At. The. Store. And, why did you get it if you didn't like it? I told you it didn't have a light on it."

"Well. Maybe I didn't hear you!"

"Anyway. The payment deal is is through the people who make them. You have to have a credit card for that. You don't have a credit card, so you can't make payments."

"I'm going to write them a letter!"

. . .

I'm still trying to eat.

"Cheryl and her husband came by."

"Oh. That's nice."

"She looks good. You know, she's on a diet. But, she hasn't lost as much weight as Cindy."

. . .

Still. Trying. To Eat.

"Have they started digging any more up on the street?"

"Huh? I don't think so."

"Where are they going to park their cars?"

"Who?"

"The people next door!"

"Who cares?"

. . .

And then, it hits me. The reason I can't stand my grandmother is because she's petty. My entire dinner was filled with her negative, petty little bull shit, and I'm over it. I just cannot understand how someone becomes so consumed with the bad aspects of everything that it flows out of her mouth like vomit. Constantly.

And, no. It has nothing to do with her age. My great grandmother wasn't like this. This has to do with her, as a person. And it's just too fucking late to do anything for her.

6:02 p.m. - 2003-06-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next