Index - Profile - Archives - Notes - DiaryLand - Random

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

New Game, New Rules.

"My expectations are so low. It's sad, really."

"Girl, you need to bring them back up, or else all you're stuck with are lazy boys who do nothing."

"You know, Jeanette. You may have a point there."

. . .

So. We're making new expectations today. I started a list in the car on the way home, because I want to be ready for the Meat Market I'm attending tomorrow.

Yes, it is too soon for me to get into a relationship, but I believe in the come back relationship. Meaning, the one you start after a serious one, is doomed.

I figure I might as well get it over with.

. . .

I started thinking about the things that are most important to me. I realized that the way I live my life, and the ways all of my exes lived their lives didn't jive. They were not the same, so how could I have honestly expected anything to come of them?

Delusional is my best guess.

. . .

Expectation List In Order To Gain Entrance Into Carie's Vagina

Version 5,782.2

1. You have read at least one book by Ayn Rand. And, you understood it.

2. You are an artist; you paint, draw, write, are musically inclined (though being a musician has now become a negative trait).

3. You love music. You know who Chris Whitley is. Extra points for owning Rocket House.

4. You have manners. You say Please and Thank You.

5. You have a good relationship with your mother, but she does not have a say in what you do with your life.

6. You have a direction. You either know what you're doing, think you know what you're doing, or have plans to find out what you're doing.

7. Your word is a promise.

8. You understand relationships are work, and you are not afraid to work on issues if they arise.

9. You understand the meaning of goofy. Or, you invented the meaning.

10. You wonder.

11. You will be my friend, first and foremost.

12. You will not avoid me.

13. Your name is not the name of any of my ex-boyfriends. And, especially NOT Dave. Or, David. Or Ryan. Or Steve.

14. Cosmo has ultimate veto power, and you understand my cat's comfort comes before a penis.

15. You have a healthy sex drive. Healthy meaning 5-14 times per week.

16. You do the hair thing.

17. You do the toe sucking thing.

18. You must hate my grandmother's dog.

19. You can quote movies.

20. You have to think I'm funny, and I would prefer if you understood my need for an audience.

21. You will not make me stay up past my bed time waiting for you.

22. You are not afraid of change.

23. You live within a 20 mile radius of me, or are willing to move within 6 months of the L word.

24. You know what the L word means.

25. You have a job.

26. You will at the very least, pay your own way.

27. You've watched Dark City.

28. You've played Final Fantasy.

29. You must be charming.

30. I am wildly attracted to you. (Meaning, you're taller than me, you probably have dark hair, are not extremely thin, are between the ages of 29 and 34, and you have nice teeth)

I reserve the right to edit this at any time without notice.

6:00 p.m. - 2003-04-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next