Index - Profile - Archives - Notes - DiaryLand - Random

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I've got sand in my car.

From the sketch book I took to the beach:

This is the only consistent form of peace I've ever really known. Save alcohol, but even that has its own agony.

I drove. I'm surprised I didn't get lost at all. It felt as though I had never left, really. I didn't have the heart to drive by my old houses, it was enough to remember the exits on the freeway, and the lanes to stay in. University is the same traffic nightmare, though there are way more cars on John Daly than before.

They've fixed the damage to the bluff from a few years ago. But the ocean still goes forever, is still the same color green, smells the same.

It was high tide when I got there, so I didn't get to bury my legs in warm sand and fall asleep, though I wouldn't have tried the later alone.

But I did get canvases, and new pencils, and enough calm to last me for a little while.

4:39 p.m. - 2003-03-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next