Index - Profile - Archives - Notes - DiaryLand - Random

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

All over the place.

When I was done sweeping up all of the spider webs and leaves, done moving antique tables and shelves, done hauling boxes up and over to clear a small 6 by 6 corner near the window where I could work, I walked 3 feet outside and picked an orange from the tree.

I remembered the oranges from that tree being full of seeds, and quite bitter, having eaten them every winter as a child. But today, that orange was the best orange I've ever tasted.

. . .

"Well. Your aunt has connections."

"Susi?"

"Yes, she knows someone who's mother is very high in the art community here."

"Grandma, I just can't think of a reason why we shouldn't."

"Well then. I'll get out my fashionable clothes and just have Susi introduce me to this woman, and we'll start."

. . .

When I loaded the car, I wasn't sure what I was doing. I didn't know what to take, and what to leave.

And when I cleaned out part of that room, the smell reminded me of being 13, and God what an awful age to remember.

But I spent some time on the back patio listening to my grandmother shuffle through a box of old records she had found.

She pulled out a Dean Martin album, and from the looks of it, it must have been an original print.

I thought of you.

6:31 p.m. - 2003-02-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next