Index - Profile - Archives - Notes - DiaryLand - Random

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I can't think of anything witty for this one.

My grandmother is racist.

It's taken me years to even be able to say that, let alone type it.

If you could find something funny about that, and not funny ha ha, funny strange, it's that my immediate family, my mother, father, brother, and myself are pretty close to violence when we see an act spawned out of racism occur.

So my grandmother is racist. Both of them. These women are my elders, ancient nearly, and command the respect that comes with that. And while I only confront them in a questioning way, the rest of my family is not beyond name calling. "Bigot" has flown from my brother's mouth on more than one occasion, to their respective faces.

The reason I even mention any of this non-sensical crap, is because I received an email from my grandmother this morning, attempting to explain to me why she's racist. It was quite a lengthy story about WWII, and the fear that accompanied that.

And you know what I did?

I deleted it.

Because I can't find a single excuse for her, and it's unbelievably hard to love someone who has a blind hate for people of a different color. It's hard to be kind toward someone who generalizes based on skin tone, and origin. And if she focused her energy on Native Americans, I would be the subject of my grandmother's hate, because we all know I'm supposed to be a raging alcoholic by now, as well as a crack fiend.

And I deleted it because even if it was a black man that raped me, I don't walk around afraid of every black man I see. And even if it was a white man that beat me, I don't walk around afraid of every white guy I see.

So my grandmother is racist, and she is that way because she chooses to be, not for any logical reason, because racisim cannot be justified to me. And there's nothing I can do about that.

10:33 a.m. - 2003-02-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next